1928 Rochester, New York – Two little girls on the front page

Update:

Today 07 Apr 2017, I got a message from a person named Justin who said; “Jean Read in the photo is my grandmother. Making the missing woman my great grandmother…”. I will follow up with Justin and see what add new information we can add to the blog story.


Maybe some relative of these two little girls will be able to tell us what happened to the family.

Sometimes a picture in the newspaper will grab my attention and I will grab the link to it for future investigation.

This posting will examine one such picture and story.

1928 - 2 little girls Rochster NY - Read Family

I saw the two girls on the front page:

Two Little Girls on Front Page 1928 - NY

I thought the caption was the whole story. I started clipping the item when I realized that there were more pictures and two huge columns to the story.

Copy of Two Little Girls on Front Page 1928 - NY

1928 - Rochster New York - Read Family Sep Photo 2

1928 - Rochster New York - Read Family Sep Text

I created a tree to hold the items and contacted eight (8) possible tree owners about the story. None of the trees mentioned this 1928 incident.

I was able to find some records such as this marriage:

marriage - 1921 Read to Kimley

and I found the father with the two girls in 1940 (see below) but I was unable to find any follow up story in the newspaper. The main reason was that the Google News Archive collection of newspapers for this publication was limited to just a few issues.

1940 census:

Name    Age

Ashley Reed       37

Catherine Reed                34

Marjorie Reed   17

Jeany Reed         14

Ashley Reed       7

Shirley Reed       5

Gary Reed           4

I am sure with a more thorough search I would be able to find the rest of the story but I do not have the time to devote to this one story.

I posted the pictures on FaceBook (FB) in hopes of getting more information but I just got more questions, so I thought I would post it on this blog.

Perhaps one of these days a relative will come across this page and they will take the time to give us all some feedback.

Rochester, New York – Sep 1928

Sisters Marjorie Read age 5 and Jean Read age 2 ½ are shown on front page of a 1928 newspaper.

The story is about their mother

Margaret Read age 23 who has disappeared.  They lived at 771 North Goodman St., Rochester, NY

The children are now living with Marjorie’s sister: Mrs. Bessie Patterson

address: 201 Jefferson Terrace, Rochester, NY

The father: Ashley age 26

[Rochester, Monroe, New York, USA]

==========================================

Tree Created on Ancestry.com:

Marjorie & Jean Read 1928 – NY – Family Tree

https://www.ancestry.com/family-tree/tree/90617691/family

==========================================

Rochester, New York

Rochester Evening Journal the Post … – Sep 13, 1928 Thursday

Rront page story with pictures on this page and following pages

https://news.google.com/newspapers?id=VXdGAAAAIBAJ&sjid=OyoNAAAAIBAJ&pg=1984%2C1734304

cont.

https://news.google.com/newspapers?id=VXdGAAAAIBAJ&sjid=OyoNAAAAIBAJ&pg=1432%2C1742845

=========================================

Thank You.

Jose A. Munoz, M.Ed

Blog: https://newspaperproject2012.wordpress.com/

