Travel Now and in 1901

I have been reading blogs about people’s travels and thinking about the difference between what we call traveling and what our ancestors called traveling.

In today’s blogs we have:

The Too Mutch For Words blog is about her travels all over the world to help people.

The 3rdchulturechildren blog is about their travels with the foreign service.

The harbin77 blog is about their travels on Cruise ships.

The Diary of a (Future) Historian blog tells us about her studies in Lithuania.

While the recorded travels of the past were:
1901 – Dubuque, Iowa newspaper Dubuque Daily Telegraph

Travel 1901

Travel 1901

After reading the blogs and the newspaper accounts I wonder if it is just a select number of people who travel and write about it; today they blog and in the past they informed the press.

What percentage of the population really travels?

In working on family trees and reading the old newspapers I got the sense that most people stayed in one place for a long time and never really traveled much, but now I don’t know.

I can’t judge by my own family as we have traveled all over the world and really didn’t think much of it. I was surprised, when I lived in Eaton Rapids, to hear the people say that they never traveling outside of their community. I thought traveling was the norm but now I am not sure.

Is traveling a luxury and like George Bailey we must have money to travel or be stuck in Bedford Falls?

I started to write this piece thinking I had all the answers and now all I have are more questions.

As Scarlett would say:

“I can’t think about that right now. If I do, I’ll go crazy. I’ll think about that tomorrow.”

Thank You

