Foreign Service Now and in 1854

I came across a blog from a family who will be stationed in Bolivia, South America for the next two years and it reminded me of the obituary I have in my “NO LUCK” folder.

What I was thinking was how different it must be in the year 2013 compared to the year 1854 for a family to be sent to a faraway place in the service of their country.

The blog 3rdCultureChildren made me think of this 1854 obituary:

British Guiana Family 1854

British Guiana Family 1854

At Demerara, British Guiana, on the 22nd September, Lawrence William, eldest son of Lawrence William and Elizabeth Christie, in the 4th year of his age. At the same place, on the 25th, after an illness of five days, Lawrence William Christie, Company Serg’t. Major 2nd West India Regt., and late of the 88th Connaught Rangers, in the 33rd year of his age. Also, at the same place, on the 2nd of October, after an illness of eight days, Mrs. Elizabeth Christie, wife of the above, and eldest daughter of Mr. Michael Monaghan, of this city (Halifax, N.S.), in the 25th year of her age.
At Demerara, British Guiana, on the 8th of October, after an illness of two days, Company Sergeant Major, John James Shaw, 2nd West India Regt., a native of England, in the 25th year of his age, leaving a widow to mourn his loss.

Can you imagine poor twenty five year old Elizabeth losing her eldest son, then her husband then succumbing to the same illness herself? What I wonder is what happened to the other children, since Lawrence age 4 was the eldest son, there must be other children? Also what illness was it that killed them all in the remote jungles of British Guiana?

Wishing for the “Good Old Days?”

I don’t think so!

Thank You.

P.S. For those new to my blog, my “NO LUCK” folder is where I put items from the old newspapers that are not connected to any family tree because I have not been able to find an existing family tree for the item.

To View the Original item,
Select Acadian Recorder in box below:
To the left of this item.
Item is on: Page 2, Col 3

Halifax, Nova Scotia
Acadian Recorder
November 25, 1854
